good fortune

(a PJ Harvey soundtracked homage to my week in Grasmere)

One thing I do miss about facebook is the ability to say: ZOMFG YOU GUYS LOOK WHERE I AM

20160329_170810

my workplace for the week – with lambs!

About 5 months ago (how time flies) I sort of accidentally got something like my dream job. This week, work has sent me to the Lake District for three days of training, and there’s an outside chance that I might never leave.

20160329_170647.jpg

the waterfall outside the workplace

I am in love. From the pure running water flowing through the river Rothay, to the oak trees bearded in ferns and lichens; it feels like everything I love is somehow already right here.

Even the sheep feel like mythical creatures: the unmistakable frosted features of the Herdwick, set majestically against the fells.

Am I gushing?

20160329_074506

bedroom window: room with a view

 

 

I don’t yet know the names of all the hills and peaks around me, but I want to learn. I want to learn everything about this landscape. I want to keep coming back until I know every corner of it, intimately, by the soles of my feet.

This is love.

Leave a Reply

